Relution Shared Device Mode
Education is becoming more and more digital. Mobile devices, apps and online content have become a vital part of teaching. Relution for Education makes it easier than ever to manage tablets, apps and content in a digital classroom.
With the new Relution Shared Device mode available since Relution 4.26, iPads can be securely used by several students (Android support is planned). Each student gets his own app selection in addition to the device-specific configurations that are valid for all users on one device.
After activating this mode, a login screen is shown that cannot be left without logging in. After logging in, users have ONLY their assigned apps available. At the same time, the user’s home directory is made accessible so that he can save his work.
After logging out, these apps and the content stored in them are removed from the device, so that the next user has a clean working environment. Unlike Apple’s Shared iPad mode, this requires no Managed Apple IDs, making Relution the only MDM solution in the education space to 100% comply with all governmental data security regulations.
Another advantage lies in the way the Relution Shared Device Mode is implemented: it can be dynamically switched on and off at any time, so that student owned tablets can be functionally limited during classes or exams while offering full functions outside school.
Relution Shared Device mode requires Relution version 4.26 or above and the Relution iOS app 4.4 or later. iPads need to be supervised. You can then enroll the devices via Device Enrollment Program (DEP) or manually in Relution. Enrolling devices without a user is now supported, too.
Then, the new “Relution Shared Device“ configuration can be used in a policy. This configuration activates the new mode, requiring a login / logout on the devices.
You can now use the new Auto-Deploy feature to assign apps to specific users or groups. You can either reach them by clicking on Settings --> User in the Auto-Deployments tab, or by navigating to Apps --> App Store and clicking on the settings tab of an app.
Now, when a user logs in in the new login window, the system immediately installs the apps previously assigned under Auto-Deployments onto his device. If VPP is configured, the app licenses are also assigned automatically. At the same time, all other app icons are removed (including system apps) and the uninstallation of the assigned apps is blocked.
- Devices in the Relution Shared Device mode that are in the logged-out state are not assigned to a user. They belong to the "Device User" group of the respective organization.
- This also means that devices can now be enrolled without having to define a user. In addition, you can also change the user after enrolling by clicking on a device in the inventory and change the user in the edit view.
Android specific information will be added to this description as soon as Android support for Relution Shared Device Mode becomes available. Also, the integrated home directory access is currently under development.